Skip to Content

Department of Cognitive Science

Members of the Department of Cognitive Science

The Department of Cognitive Science is also the host department for the ARC Centre of Excellence in Cognition and its Disorders, which brings together researchers from the Departments of Cognitive Science, Psychology and Linguistics at Macquarie University and thirteen other national and international institutions.

Department Executive

Professor John SuttonHead of Department - Professor Genevieve McArthur



Professor Amanda BarnierMRes Advisor - Professor Amanda Barnier



Professor Anne CastlesResearch Chair - Professor Anne Castles



Dr David KaplanLearning and Teaching Director - Dr David Kaplan




Administrative Staff

Research Support Staff

Research Students


Student Visitors

External Associates

Further Information


Who is Visiting

  • Dr Mariia Kaliuzhna
  • Xiaohe Yuan
  • Associate Professor Douglas Cheyne
  • Dr Hamish Innes-Brown
  • Dr Danielle Colenbrander
  • Nick Gibb
  • Dr Jennifer Buckingham
  • [Previous Visitors]

Contact Details

Telephone: (02) 9850 9599
Fax : (02) 9850 6059
Email :
Web :