Skip to Content

Department of Cognitive Science

About the Department of Cognitive Science

The Department of Cognitive Science is led by the Head, Professor Genevieve McArthur, who along with an excellent team of colleagues and HDR students, offers an outstanding cognitive science research and research training program at Macquarie University. The Cognitive Science field at Macquarie University scored 5 on the 2010 Excellence in Research for Australia rankings, confirming our position as the leading concentration of cognitive scientists in Australia.

The Department of Cognitive Science was established in recognition of the strength of cognitive science which was provided by the Macquarie Centre for Cognitive Science (MACCS). MACCS was established on January 1, 2000 with funding for 9 years from the Australian Research Council under the Council's Special Research Centre scheme. Steered by Professor Max Coltheart, MACCS was established to carry out research and PhD supervision in cognitive science. The major aim of MACCS was to conduct research in three general domains of cognition: Belief, Visual Cognition and Language to learn more about typical and atypical (developmental and acquired difficulties) cognitive processes.

Cognitive Science hosts the ARC Centre for Excellence in Cognition and its Disorders (CCD), which builds on the rich and impressive history of cognitive science research at Macquarie University. In 2010, Distinguished Professors Stephen Crain and Professors Anne Castles and Max Coltheart, from Macquarie University, Professor John Hodges from the University of New South Wales and Professor Gillian Rhodes from the University of Western Australia proposed a new ARC funded Centre, the ARC Centre for Excellence in Cognition and its Disorders. The CCD focuses cognitive science research in Australia, incorporating the research themes of Belief Formation, Language and Reading, together with research under Professors Rhodes and Hodges, of Person Perception and Memory. The research strengths in visual cognition, now called Perception in Action at Macquarie University continues its strong research tradition and is a Macquarie funded collaborating partner of the CCD.

Further Information


Who is Visiting

  • Professor Jason Hollowell
  • Dr Olena Nikolenko
  • Dr Lianzhong Zheng
  • Dr Emmanual Chemla
  • Associate Professor Sara Hart
  • Dr Dona Jayakody
  • Dr Erik Chang
  • Dr Nichola Burton
  • Dr Clare Sutherland
  • Dielle Horne
  • Dr Amy Dawel
  • Ellen Bothe
  • Samantha-Kaye Johnston
  • Dr Ryan Balzan
  • Dr Teresa Schubert
  • Jemma Collova
  • Derek Swe
  • Professor Stefan Schweinberger
  • Chloe Giffard
  • Kaitlyn Turbett
  • Dr Britta Biedermann
  • Jonathon Love
  • Professor Ingo Bojak
  • Professor Sylvain Baillet
  • Dr Christos Pliatsikas
  • Professor James Douglas Saddy
  • Professor Tom Johnstone
  • Professor Matthew Lambon-Ralph
  • Dr Sharon Savage
  • Dr Donna Rose Addis
  • [Previous Visitors]

Contact Details

Telephone: (02) 9850 9599
Fax : (02) 9850 6059
Email :
Web :