Skip to Content

Department of Cognitive Science

Stuttering Research

For the majority of people who develop a stutter as a child, the condition resolves itself in time. For a small minority however, stuttering persists, causing severe and ongoing distress.

Stuttering is a disorder of motor coordination development in the brain, that is, a problem with the neural processing that underlies speech production. Stuttering typically emerges in children aged two to four years, and it is reasonably common: about 1 in 20 children stutter at some point in childhood.

Over the last 60 years or so, a great deal of scientific research has been conducted into stuttering, with most studies carried out on adults. However, studying children who stutter is very important. This is because the brain changes over time to compensate for stuttering, so the original issue may be obscured in adult stutterers.

Child with MEG systemWe are using Macquarie University's MEG (magnetoencephalography) system – a brain technique which measures the magnetic field generated whenever information is processed by the brain – to study stuttering. The MEG captures measurements every 1/1000 second even though the brain's magnetic fields are 100 million times smaller than the earth's and one million times smaller than those produced in an urban environment.

MEG, which utilises a helmet-like device with extremely sensitive sensors, is completely safe and non-invasive so measurements do not affect body tissues and are therefore suited to the study of the brain in young children.

To make the child MEG experience friendlier for children, we have created a 'Space Adventure' with the children boarding a space ship, 'wearing' a helmet and travelling to another planet.

We are currently recruiting children and adults (3 years and up) to participate in our MEG studies of stuttering. If you would like further information please contact us:

Paul Sowman

Further Information


Who is Visiting

  • Ayako Prokopczuk
  • Dr Minna Torppa
  • Hannah Cahill
  • Lauren Dennis
  • Giles King
  • Areeba Awan
  • Joshua Carey
  • Sijal Ansari
  • Natasha Mitchell
  • Maxie Johanna Reise
  • Samuel Free
  • Matilda Parry
  • Jeremy Cheuk
  • Blake Hunt
  • Chen Lu
  • Jacqueline Thomas
  • Jordan Rogers
  • Nicola Burgess
  • Audrey Acebedo
  • Ranjeet Rajput Singh
  • Gabrielle Picard
  • Stephen Brooke
  • Ryan Jones
  • Veronika Kosourikhina
  • Farnoush Abedi
  • Jenna Resnik
  • Angeleena Le
  • Megan Phillips
  • Gemma Campbell
  • Erin Toovey
  • Ji Yeon Bae
  • Jowana Awick
  • Dr Tetsu Hirosawa
  • Roshini Randeniya
  • Judith Martens
  • Lirije von Petersdorff
  • Rebecca Hirst
  • Matthew Hoskins
  • Dr Kelly Jakubowski
  • Elizabeth Kinghorn
  • Associate Professor Timothy Carroll
  • Dr Alexa Morcom
  • Professor Karin Landerl
  • [Previous Visitors]

Contact Details

Telephone: (02) 9850 9599
Fax : (02) 9850 6059
Email :
Web :