Skip to Content

Department of Cognitive Science

Seminar Abstract

Memory reorganisation and ageing: same-old or different?

Speaker : Dr Alexa Morcom, School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences, The University of Edinburgh, UK.
Date : 15th of December 2017, 12:30PM until 1:30PM
Location : Australian Hearing Hub, 3.610, Macquarie University.

    To what degree does healthy ageing involve reorganisation of cognitive and brain function? I will discuss two current lines of work which address this from different perspectives. In the first, we address neurocognitive theories proposing large-scale functional reorganisation. Functional neuroimaging studies often show increased activity in prefrontal brain regions in older people. This has been proposed to reflect a compensatory shift to greater reliance on prefrontal cortex, helping to maintain cognitive function. Alternatively, the increased activity may be less specific, reflecting dedifferentiation of neuronal responses due to structural and neurochemical changes accompanying aging. I will report results of a novel model-based multivariate analysis applied to two datasets from a large population-derived adult lifespan sample (Cam-CAN cohort; These suggest reduced specificity rather than compensation. In the second part, we explore the proposal that false memory errors in older people reflect a greater reliance on preserved semantic knowledge which may reflect a form of compensation. Data from different behavioural paradigms show that this is not always the case. We situate episodic memory decline as part of a wider pattern of declining and preserved mental abilities.

    Further Information


    Who is Visiting

    • Ayako Prokopczuk
    • Dr Minna Torppa
    • Hannah Cahill
    • Lauren Dennis
    • Giles King
    • Areeba Awan
    • Joshua Carey
    • Sijal Ansari
    • Natasha Mitchell
    • Maxie Johanna Reise
    • Samuel Free
    • Matilda Parry
    • Jeremy Cheuk
    • Blake Hunt
    • Chen Lu
    • Jacqueline Thomas
    • Jordan Rogers
    • Nicola Burgess
    • Audrey Acebedo
    • Ranjeet Rajput Singh
    • Gabrielle Picard
    • Stephen Brooke
    • Ryan Jones
    • Veronika Kosourikhina
    • Farnoush Abedi
    • Jenna Resnik
    • Angeleena Le
    • Megan Phillips
    • Gemma Campbell
    • Erin Toovey
    • Ji Yeon Bae
    • Jowana Awick
    • Dr Tetsu Hirosawa
    • Roshini Randeniya
    • Judith Martens
    • Lirije von Petersdorff
    • Rebecca Hirst
    • Matthew Hoskins
    • Dr Kelly Jakubowski
    • Elizabeth Kinghorn
    • Associate Professor Timothy Carroll
    • Dr Alexa Morcom
    • Professor Karin Landerl
    • [Previous Visitors]

    Contact Details

    Telephone: (02) 9850 9599
    Fax : (02) 9850 6059
    Email :
    Web :