Skip to Content

Department of Cognitive Science

Members of the Department of Cognitive Science

The Department of Cognitive Science is also the host department for the ARC Centre of Excellence in Cognition and its Disorders, which brings together researchers from the Departments of Cognitive Science, Psychology and Linguistics at Macquarie University and thirteen other national and international institutions.

For a complete listing of all the researchers involved in Cognition research at Macquarie University and throughout the CCD member nodes please visit the CCD People website.

Heads of Department

Professor John SuttonActing Head of Department - Associate Professor Genevieve Mcarthur

The goal of my research is to understand the causes, treatment, and assessment of reading and language impairments in children. In collaboration with colleagues, students, and industry partners, I use treatment studies that examine the causal relationships between reading impairments and deficits in auditory processing, phonological processing, working memory, and self-esteem; and I develop standardised and normed assessments for reading in children. I am also interested in developing new methods for measuring brain responses in children that are less threatening than conventional methods.

Professor John SuttonDeputy Head of Department- Professor John Sutton

I work on the history, philosophy, and sciences of memory, and on the theoretical foundations of the cognitive sciences. Current projects with my collaborators and students in the department and in other disciplines address collaborative recall; perspective in autobiographical memory; embodied skills and expert movement; cognitive history; and distributed or extended cognition.


Administrative Staff

Research Support Staff

Research Students


External Associates

Further Information


Who is Visiting

Contact Details

Telephone: (02) 9850 9599
Fax : (02) 9850 6059
Email :
Web :