Skip to Content

Department of Cognitive Science

Higher Degree Research in Cognitive Science

The Department of Cognitive Science offers exceptional learning opportunities for students interested in pursuing higher degree research in the cognitive and brain sciences. Two exciting research training pathways are available – the Master of Research (MRes) and the PhD. MRes students will gain core knowledge in their specific research area as well as the broader fields of cognitive and brain science. In addition, students will gain intensive research experience while pursuing individual research projects under the supervision of a member of the Department. Research projects are designed to permit flexibility. The innovative combination of advanced disciplinary coursework and structured research training offered during the 2-year MRes program makes the MRes the ideal pathway into the PhD in Cognitive Science. PhD supervision is provided across a wide range of domains of cognitive science including memory, language, perception in action, and reading. The Department of Cognitive Science boasts world-class researchers and state-of-the-art facilities, and the PhD program provides unparalleled access to both.

For more information

Academic staff: List of eligible supervisors

If you are interested in applying to the Department of Cognitive Science, you should discuss a research proposal with one of these staff members before completing your application.

Name Position
Distinguished Professor Anne Castles
Associate Professor Veronika Coltheart Honorary Associate
Associate Professor Robyn Langdon ARC Future Fellow
Professor Genevieve McArthur Head of Department
Professor Lyndsey Nickels Professor of Cognitive Science & Director of IDEALAB (MQ)
Professor Amanda Barnier ARC Future Fellow
Associate Professor Matthew Finkbeiner Research Fellow
Professor Mark Williams Deputy Head of Department
Associate Professor Anina Rich ARC Research Fellow
Dr Jon Brock Research Fellow
Associate Professor Blake Johnson Research Fellow
Professor John Sutton Deputy Director
Dr Kati Renvall Adjunct Supervisor
Professor Roelien Bastiaanse Adjunct Supervisor
Professor Barbara Höhle Adjunct Supervisor
Dr David Kaplan Lecturer