Skip to Content

Department of Cognitive Science

Welcome to the Department of Cognitive Science

The Department of Cognitive Science is a research department which carries out research and PhD supervision across a wide range of domains of cognitive science, including memory, language, belief formation, perception in action, and reading. The Department hosts the ARC Centre of Excellence in Cognition and its Disorders, which brings together researchers from the Departments of Cognitive Science, Psychology and Linguistics at Macquarie University and thirteen other national and international institutions.

Latest Department News...

Mirko Farina

PhD Candidate Recognised for Research Excellence

Mirko Farina wins Macquarie University's Excellence in Higher Degree Research award.

Read more »

Professor Lyndsey Nickels

Distinguished Professor announced

Anne Castles recognised as a Distinguished Professor.

Read more »

Professor Lyndsey Nickels

SCEH Fellowship

Amanda Barnier made Fellow of the Society for Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis.

Read more »

Professor Lyndsey Nickels

Lyndsey Nickels recognised for success in research and HDR supervision

She's been elected as Fellow of the Academy of Social Science in Australia and received the Macquarie University Vice-Chancellor HDR Supervisor Award.

Read more »

Master of ceremony David Kaplan (left) hands over first prize to winner Rebecca Gelding (right) at the 3MT competition

Rebecca Gelding winner of Faculty 3MT competition

Congratulations to Rebecca Gelding for winning the Faculty of Human Science's 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) competition with her talk entitled "Manipulating music in your mind”

Read more »


David Kaplan receives Enhancement Program grant for new Department 300-level units

David Kaplan and the Department of Cognitive Science have recently been awarded a Macquarie University Enhancement Program Grant. The $25,000 grant will fund the development of two exciting, new 300-level units that will help drive the expansion of the undergraduate program in Cognitive Science.

Read more »

DVC-R commendation recipients - Yvette Kezilas, Anastasiya Romanova, Christopher McCarroll and Vana Webster

Department PGRF successes

Congratulations to our eight applicants who were successful in the recent round of the PGRF scheme: Vishnu Nair, Trudy Krajenbrink, Nathan Caruana, Anne Jaeger, Yvette Kezilas, Christopher McCarroll, Anastasiya Romanova and Vana Webster.

Read more »

Professor Lyndsey Nickels

Lyndsey Nickels recognised with Faculty Higher Degree Research Supervision Award

Congratulations to Professor Lyndsey Nickels who has been selected as this year’s recipient of the Faculty of Human Sciences Excellence in Higher Degree Research Supervision Award.

Read more »

Image of eye

Masters/PhD in Cognitive Science

The Department of Cognitive Science invites applications for scholarships in a 4-year Masters by Research(MRes)/PhD program, commencing 2015. Competitive scholarships are available for Australian and international students.

Read more »

Genevieve McArthur, Anne Castles and Minister Pyne

Reading program researchers contribute to policy roundtable

The Hon Christopher Pyne, MP, Minister for Education invited CCD Reading Program Leader Professor Anne Castles and Chief Investigator, Associate Professor Genevieve McArthur to a recent policy roundtable on students with dyslexia.

Read more »

Mark Williams and Amanda Barnier

Congratulations to Professors Amanda Barnier and Mark Williams

Department researchers Amanda Barnier and Mark Williams will be promoted to Professor (Level E), effective July 1st, 2014. Congratulations to them both!


2014 Paul Bourke Public lecture available for viewing

Associate Professor Rich delivered the 2014 Paul Bourke Lecture on 1 May at Macquarie University. The event is now available to watch online.
Read more »

CCD Nodes Diagram

Department researcher on All In The Mind

Dr Pamela Marsh is featured on an upcoming program of All In The Mind. Broadcast to air on ABC Radio National at 5pm on Sunday 11 May or 1pm Monday 12 May.
Read more »

Speaker and audience

Hearing and the Brain Symposium: Translating Research into Practice - 9 May

Satellite symposium to the World Congress of Audiology to be held at the Australian Hearing Hub aims to provide clinicians and researchers with current information about the interaction between ageing, cognition and hearing loss.
Read more »

CCD Nodes Diagram

Two new Postdoctoral positions available

Two (2) positions are available for outstanding early career researchers to join the ARC Centre of Excellence in Cognition and its Disorders (CCD) and the Department of Cognitive Science.
Read more »

Amanda Barnier and Rochelle Cox

Three Belief Formation Program researchers win prestigious APA awards

Associate Professor Amanda Barnier, Dr Michael Connors and Dr Rochelle Cox won prestigious research awards from the American Psychological Association.

Read more »

IDEALAB Students

Erasmus Mundus International Doctorate for Experimental Approaches to Language and Brain (IDEALAB)

Macquarie University is the first full partner Australian University of an Erasmus Mundus Joint Doctorate Program - a prestigious European funding initiative.

Read more »

Associate Professor Amanda Barnier

Associate Professor Amanda Barnier recognised for exceptional leadership and achievement

The Society for Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis (SCEH) awarded this year's Bernard B Raginski Award for Leadership and Achievement in Hypnosis to Associate Professor Amanda Barnier. Read more »

Anina Rich at awards presentation

Associate Professor Anina Rich wins 2013 Paul Bourke Award for research excellence

Each year, The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia honours Australians in the early parts of their careers who have achieved excellence in scholarship in one or more fields of the social sciences. Read more »
Shu Hui Yau

Congratulations Shu Hui Yau, Three Minute Thesis Trans-Tasman finalist

Congratulations to Shu Hui Yau for making it to the grand finals of the 2013 Trans-Tasman Three Minute Thesis competition! Read more »
Associate Professor Genevieve McArthur

Cognitive Science appoints a new Deputy Head of Department

Associate Professor Genevieve McArthur has been appointed as a new Deputy Head of Department.

Anne Castles elected as Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

Professor Anne Castles has been elected as a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (FASSA).

Further Information


Who is Visiting

Contact Details

Telephone: (02) 9850 9599
Fax : (02) 9850 6059
Email :
Web :